Rune Tarot Bag

My Designs

Rune Tarot Bag

Click to view larger

I used to do a fair amount of my own design work, originals and mash-ups using bits from other designers.  These three are mine. 

Backstitch Celtic Knotwork

Click to view larger

The Tarot piece was supposed to be the front of a bag for a deck.  I’d done it for my sister, but can’t read the runes anymore.  I don’t know what translation of them I used because they don’t make sense now.  I did it in 1991 over two on linen.

The knot work is backstitch and long stitch over two on linen.  I did that one sometime in the 90s, too, when I did a lot of Celtic knotwork on paper.  I’d gotten a book from a friend on doing it and found that the author’s son had done a better book on the method of construction.  I learned that and drew like crazy for several years.  This piece incorporates two large background crosses and only two paths.  Enlarge it and trace them, you’ll see!

 

Recorder cross stitch

Click to view larger

The recorder is from the late 90s, of my plastic Yamaha soprano.  I gave it a little more warmth, hinting at Ivory.  It is stitched over two on white linen.

Leave a Reply

